Clear Cut

November 23, 2009

AT&T Is Now Offering Pay-As-You-Go Internet

Filed under: Computing,Mobile — Blue @ 12:25 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Too bad they have it capped out at 500MB for 30 days. 500MB in 30 days? Please, even the iPhone offers 3GB packages on a monthly basis.  I guess the point of this is for people who only need the internet for a certain amount of time.  For example, say I’m going on holidays for a week or so and I don’t think I’ll be able to live off of a wi-fi connection, I would probably purchase a 500MB package to keep me going for the week.  500MB just isn’t practical for anything else, if someone sends you a picture over email, thats a handful of MB’s right there.

Pay as you go data coverage for notebook computers is a pretty rare feature.  Nowadays in Canada, the major mobile carriers seem to be really pushing to sell their mobile internet keys on three year contracts.  But I’m unable to find any pay as you go options.  Internet keys make sense.  Heck, I’d love to be able to browse the web on my laptop while on the go as opposed to my stupid HTC Touch.  It seems that with all the talk of cloud-computing and now the push for mobile internet keys, the companies that matter have recognized that data on the go is a necessity, which makes our lives better.

 

Blue

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.